Hot Toddy

[Recipe]

Now why am I sharing the recipe for an alcohololic beverage in my blog?

Apart from the fact that it tastes great and is one of my favourite classic cocktails; it is quite popular and sought after among my friends and among my family and my husband’s family members/relatives who’ve had the one made by either him or me. And also, they always ask, ‘How do you make it?’

So I thought, why not share the recipe this way.

Traditionally, hot toddy is made with whiskey but we prefer using brandy. It’s great when you are feeling cold or have a sore throat, cough and cold and ofcourse as a cocktail for any party or get-together.

Let’s start making it:

Ingredients:
– Boiling hot water: 330ml
– Brandy: 60ml(1peg)
– Honey: 4 tsp/to taste
– Lemon juice: 1 medium size lemon/to taste
– Tea masala(magic ingredient): 3/4th tsp
– Star anise: 1
– Cinnamon stick : 1 inch

Method:
– Boil water
– Put a little cold water in the glass in which you are serving the drink and microwave it for 30 secs. This is to make the glass hot so that the drink remains hot for longer. You may skip this step.
– After the glass is heated and while the water is boiling, put all the ingredients except lemon juice into the glass.
– Add the boiling hot water, add lemon juice, stir, taste and adjust the honey and lemon juice. It should be tangy with a hint of sweetness.
– Voila! Your glass of ‘Hot Toddy’ is ready to be sipped!

Tastes best when it is HOT!

I re-heat and have it sometimes as I like to savour every sip and when I do that it tends to get cold.

Our version doesn’t taste anything like the ones available outside. It is way better in every aspect – taste, texture, quality and quantity. That is why I don’t like having hot toddy anywhere else… it is bad! Also, my husband has mastered it and no one makes it better than him.😊

Teetotallers can skip the alcohol and still have it… I call it the ‘kaadha’ version.🤭

Preparation and pic courtesy: Husband🙂

Well, whether you have it loaded or virgin… enjoy it… and cheers!

🥂🥂🥂

This blog post is a part of the blog challenge ‘Blogaberry Dazzle’ hosted by Cindy D’Silva and Noor Anand Chawla in collaboration with Mads’ Cookhouse.

53 thoughts on “Hot Toddy

  1. With everyone coughing and sniffling in my house – from kids to elders, I think it is just the right thing to make! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It could well be a kadha. Brandy after all has health benefits too. I would have loved to try out your recipe, Kaveri. Unfortunately, two ingredients are a no go for me. Thanks for sharing the recipe, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, this sounds good! I’m not a whiskey person so I can try this with brandy as well. The tea masala is the surprise element indeed! Curious about how it tastes now. Will try soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. As I was reading your recipe to treat my hubby as I am a non alcoholic person, I can almost savor the rich, soothing blend of brandy, honey, and lemon intertwining with the aromatic spices which he will definitely love to try. By the way, your suggestion to warm the glass is a bang-on! idea for me and I really want to hug you for that! But as the winters are gone, I think I need to wait till next winter to make it for him … Keeping this recipe saved with me. By the way in the rainy months the climate turns cold sometimes in my area, can I try that time? Plz suggest

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes Samata… whenever the temperature drops… doesnt have to be winters … or if your hubby feels like he’s on the verge of a cold…

      Like

  5. Wow, Kaveri, I really like the unique recipe you’ve shared—it’s something new for me. Thanks for sharing. I haven’t heard of Hot Toddy before, and I’ve never had brandy either. But your recipe looks interesting and seems like it could be good for health. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are welcome Anjali. It may not be good for health as it contains alcohol but we dont have it everyday right?.. once in a while it’s ok

      Like

  6. The addition of tea masala is such a unique touch. I can imagine it adds a lovely depth of flavor to the drink. I’ll definitely have to try your version of the hot toddy next time I’m in need of a warm and soothing beverage.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow Kaveri … Hot Toddy is my favorite drink for cold wintery nights, even more than mulled wine (over-hyped I feel ), I generally use whiskey for it because I love the aroma more. I sometimes give it my twist and add a clove too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow! so that makes two of us🙌
      In some places they do add cloves n elaichi too.
      Do try with chai masala Preeti… the kick is different!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. You had me at, ‘ It’s great when you are feeling cold’ because living in a European country and adjusting to the cold here is still something I’m getting adapted to. So this would be the perfect weekend drink for us from now. It seems doable too based on how simple you’ve made the preparation look (which could just be a nod to your writing and presentation skills!) Thanks for sharing the recipe, specially for adding that teetotaler bit 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha… some of my husband’s aunts have it the ‘kaadha’ way… so I thought I should have something for folks like them too😀.
      This drink is totally for the cold… it heats u up amazingly from inside… u must try it.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Reading through your recipe, I can practically taste the warm, comforting flavors of brandy, honey, and lemon mingling together with those aromatic spices. And your tip about heating the glass beforehand? Genius! It’s those little details that really make a difference.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Your hot toddy recipe is a delightful twist on a classic cocktail! I like the personal touch and the use of brandy instead of whiskey. The addition of tea masala adds a unique flavor, making it perfect for cold evenings or gatherings. Thanks for sharing this cozy drink recipe!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow! it’s so nice that u r totally off alcohol… to be honest I don’t like the taste of any drink as it is n cocktails too i m quite picky… but I like to be tipsy 🤪

      Liked by 1 person

  11. This post reminds me of the my college days where this used to be the go to winter drink. Cheap, effective and blends well with the romcoms as you wipe your tears away when Rachel leaves Ross. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Your hot toddy recipe sounds incredibly warming and comforting, especially with the unique twist of using brandy and tea masala. It’s lovely and inviting!

    Cheers to many more cozy moments and shared recipes!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Oh, at first I thought it’s the same toddy that we get by fermenting palm tree sap. But it’s the cocktail version of kadha. Now, I feel like giving it a try. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment