Carnival

On this sunny day, it is weirdly satisfying to suck the life out of the kaala khatta* which I realize is neither kaala** nor khatta°, just sweet and ice-cold. The exhuberant ambience sets in the mood for small talk. I want to talk about the hot sun, the swarms of adults, the smiling children, the stalls, the sellers, the sounds and the smells.

The human forms walking around seem like a mirage to me; they are there one moment and gone the other. My gaze shifts to an elderly couple sitting and enjoying potato twistatoes and laughing their hearts out. It is charming to watch them laugh. On the same thought… the senior citizen laughter club of our society does that too, laugh loudly at 7:30a.m. everyday. But that isn’t delightful; it is disturbing to many who sleep late after working the night or others who generally like to sleep late. Some residents even complained that they feel bullied by the act as the elderly are being selfish.

I guess everything done in it’s time and place feels right. But who will make our elders understand? It’s something they have great faith in, something that is exciting and is good for their physical and mental well being. So why is it bad they may think.

Goodness! I wasn’t supposed to do serious talk but how I get lost in my thoughts.

I look at my gola, its excessive sweetness and artificial flavour is killing me so I call my younger daughter and give it to her. She takes it away joyfully even after having her own… kids love these things! She is busy running from one stall to the other with her bestie. It’s surprising that children don’t get bothered by the intense heat, the dehydration or about getting tanned. Here I am sitting under this makeshift shed while my children are escaping it. At my age, a school carnival wouldn’t interest me anyway.

I suddenly remember that I have to call my cook and ask him to let himself in as we aren’t home. He has a Ram bhajan*** as his ring tone and after listening to it for half a minute, I give up and leave a voice note on whatsapp. I think about Ram. The whole country, rather the whole Hindu community of the country is gripped in his frenzy at the moment. I remember how I pissed off some ladies of one of my whatsapp groups when I politely asked them to refrain from spamming(they literally did that) the group with religious messages citing that it may not be comfortable to everyone. And how will it be? It isn’t relevant to all. For a non-religious person like me, this whole thing is a little too much. I woke up to messages that demanded that we ‘show solidarity to our faith’ by putting up letters of the alphabet as our DP… on a huge group of 400 plus ladies of all religions and beliefs… duh! Seems to me, when it is anything about religion, everyone leaves every sensibility aside. Are people of other religions feeling left out in their whatsapp groups?… surely! and intimidated?… maybe!

Pre-occupied, I fail to realize that my elder daughter’s been tugging at my top. She asks if we can leave in 30 minutes. Boy! I was supposed to be involved in the carnival.

You know, some ladies showed their disapproval of my message in the group (I had expected it) and said I was over reacting and this frenzy has got nothing to do with religion and that it’s a matter of pride for Indians. Well, I did feel like replying to say, ‘Pride yes, but only for the Hindus and India is made of Indians.. of all types!’

Some said things like, ‘How is our excitement uncomfortable to anyone?’ To this I felt like saying, ‘Doesn’t this sound like our laughter club issue?’ Like how an important activity of our resident senior citizens was a nuisance to the rest of us? In the same way, no matter how exciting, important or good(mental well being) the consecration of Ram maybe to devout Hindus, to others it doesn’t mean anything. Again, who would make them understand? ‘We are all a part of a larger group and we must act accordingly'(This is what was told to the members of the laughter club when they didn’t care less). Doesn’t seem to apply to the devotional aspect I guess.

One lady said that I didn’t have the right to interfere in their acts of faith or dictate terms… ouch! They certainly took my earnest request as blasphemy.

Anyway, am back to looking around. The children are joyous, their cherubic faces revealing that they are loving every bit of this day. I stop thinking about the comments I received, but not without smiling while this fleeting thought plays in my mind…

I too am a believer by the way; I am a woman of faith. I have extreme faith in the supreme power and divinity that resides in me. My faith doesn’t get threatened, needs no protection from external factors nor constant and rigorous validation. It is the almighty – imperturbable, unwavering and uncompelling! It is all encompassing and doesn’t divide, discriminate, demean or delude. That is probably why I am never proud of my faith; I am always only humbled.🙏

“Aama, why are you smiling?” My daughters ask as they head back to the shed. I quickly gather myself back to the present and get up to go. My amused inner voice says, ‘So much for the small talk that never happened… chuckle chuckle… shhhh!’ But I reply, “Nothing, just thinking what a lovely Carnival day it was!”😉

🎪🎪🎪🎪

*Kaala khatta – cola flavoured snow cones
** Kaala – black | °Khatta – sour|***Bhajan – devotional song

🎪🎪🎪🎪

This blog post is a part of the blog challenge ‘Blogaberry Dazzle’ hosted by Cindy D’Silva and Noor Anand Chawla in collaboration with Bohemian Bibliophile.

🎪🎪🎪🎪

54 thoughts on “Carnival

  1. Kaveri you’ve echoed my thoughts from this January – it made me (a person from the minority religious group of Sikhs) so uncomfortable to see the endless orange Lord Ram flags, the crazed groups walking on the road chanting ‘jai Shri Ram’ and what not. For me, someone showing pride in their faith is absolutely fine, I even feel happy for them. But this overt politicisation of the Ram Mandir is so demeaning even to the Hindu religious faith! This spectacle wasn’t about religion at all – it was solely about politics and an assertion of majority power which was so disturbing to see. I will say though, thankfully, none of my Whatsapp groups glorified the Ram Mandir or Lord Ram at that time, so at least I escaped that! Kudos to you for sharing your thoughts so bravely!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow Kaveri What a piece of writing, I must say, and yes, I could not agree more with you on what you have said. It is clearly visible that today people are hyperactive because of social media, and they literally love spreading anything and everything. If it is a religious post, then voila, they will spread all about it, and you even do not have permission to share your own voice because there are a few groups who are ready to demean you under the fake mask of social media. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. For sometime even I felt the same for the ‘Ram’ frenzy. I am devout and religious, but this went a little far, I thought. And true, it was dominating our whatsapp groups for long after the pran pratishthan was over. Now they have fridge magnets of ram murthi and ram mandir. Poor Ram should be left alone, high time!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sadly, even in 2024 we cannot speak our minds without being frowned upon, if what you speak, or what you mind, is not what is the popular opinion! I remember saying to another lady of my colony, that I wish they would not use the mic in the center to sing their bhajans and mantras, especially since they were so out of tune – she looked at me horrified, said, we should respect their religious feelings, and has not spoken with me since. Where did their feelings come into their using the public space? This is similar to the laughter club or people sharing non-stop their own set of messages. I do think there are places and platforms, for everything – and those should be used exclusively. now what is happening now, where people get together and start off with anything anywhere and at anytime!

    Like

  5. Can I just say ‘I feel you’. Been through the same sentiments and emotions when our school watsapp group (my daughter is in her Xth grade and the group was buzzing with last minute revision papers and info) was spammed in a similar fashion as echoed by you and me belonging to a ‘minority’ sect couldn’t even say a word. You have summed it so beautifully. I have absolutely no problem with the beautiful temple being built and its celebration, but hatred and spats that followed were definitely not expected especially in the present so-called modern India.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You hit the nail on the head my dear. Even I have the ditto thoughts about the whole shennanigans of Ram Mandir and the frenzy around it. One of my friend calls and instead of hello says Jai Shri Ram I wish I could give a rebuttal but I bite my tongue and keep quiet as I feel we all should live and let live.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am ok with jai shree ram, or radhe radhe or anything as Greetings as it doesn’t disturb anyone or make anyone feel left out… but the shennanigans… they are more political than religious n people fall for such things. ‘Bhakti mein andhe’ I guess.

      Like

  7. Oh kaveri my mind also talk endlessly like this. But I love the way you put it in words. Yes there are lots of things which is disturbing. People around us are behaving like they never think beyond themselves. I also wonder why there are such kind of people and why do we need to tolerate them? Religious way and more political way people try to persuade us to believe what they believe. I saw many educated people talking ridiculous things when I ping on practical post. I just laughed and feel pitty on them. And didn’t respond.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Very beautifully written Kaveri. Loved your rambling thoughts. Your words made the carnival come alive in my mind. A warm fuzzy yellow! Spot on with your point on the religious furore – and glad to see more like minded people – otherwise with all that noise, ones thoughts seem completely insignificant. Also good comparison with the laughter club.

    Also I loved your writing style – so many times I have wished to be able to write like that – but my mind itself thinks in a structured manner!! Hope to learn some day!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. A very honest post. I also received a lot of those religious messages on Whataspp. People expect a person my age to be religious but I am not. I believe in good karma instead.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I always enjoy reading your writing style! I have to admit, I’m not a fan of those WhatsApp messages either. Anyway, on January 22nd, there was a big puja, and I was assigned the task of making puri. I felt incredibly blessed when they asked for my help. I found myself tearing up with joy while making puri, and I’m not even sure why. It was just a moment of pure bliss for me. Happy that I witnessed this with my children.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. You echoed my sentiments. Thank you for writing this. I have never understood the frenzy. I am a believer in my own way, but i never have understood that part of religion.
    So, glad to have met you virtually.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I am so happy to meet a sane person, even though it’s a comment meet! I love kala khatta, I have full faith in the divine power and I utterly dislike pomp and show of faiths and religions, all of them. They empty your brain and pockets, and are good for the cash regsiters for the trusts, as they are tax exempted. Besides, they are the great dividers, as we can see in a century-old war between Palestine and Israel. How can sane people applaud these insane tactics of land grabbing and egoistic show of power?

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Your ability to remain steadfast in your beliefs, despite encountering resistance or misunderstanding from others, is truly inspiring. The imagery of joyful children and your introspective reflection on your own faith add layers of emotion and meaning to the narrative. Overall, its a thought-provoking and uplifting read that encourages me to embrace my own spiritual convictions with humility and grace.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. How well you’ve put across your point by comparing two very contemporary and relatable happenings. As always, ‘To each his own’. I’ve always believed that one is entitled to their beliefs as long as they aren’t shoved down everyone’s throats and don’t affect anyone else’s way of life.Great post, Kaveri I also liked how, very tactfully, you steered away from revealing your thoughts to your daughters 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Kaveri a big hug from me for being brutally honest and for showing the courage to speak on this sensitive topic of religion. I am a religious person for sure but not a blind religious follower. My neighbours look at me in such a distasteful way when I say Kirtan is not my cup of tea. There was huge arrangement done in our society temple which was also constructed some 4-5 years back forcefully by a big group of society people who believed that its their right to have a temple in the society and celebrated Ram Mandir Sthapna day in a grand way. Another group made tent in our lane and did Sundar kand path on that day and called the whole society to be a part of it. Neither I visited temple nor the tent as I found they are more keen on establishing Hindutva than anything else. I really dont understand this religious concept of segregating people based on religion. My question is are not the people from other religions than Hinduism, human being? dont they feel, breath and get hurt the way a Hindu does. What actually you earn by making people forcefully accept that India only support Hindutva. No harm in constructing the temple in Ayodhya and celebrating Ram Divas but why making it so big just to establish the fact this is a Hindu nation. I believe in humanity and there is no religion over humanity for me. I love people for who they are and not for the religion he or she belongs.

    Like

  16. No comments on the hype in the last weeks. I just ignored most messages in groups I’m part of. Besides religious stuff, people keep sending useless forwards every day, so I’m normally ignoring things on general Whatsapp groups.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Whether some people like it or not, we should attempt to make our opinion forward. That’s what you did. Whether they approve of what you said or not, they will eventually accept what you said. Not truly accept may be, but they would know what I is trying to say. I too am some one, who would not backoff before putting my statement forward.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. It was so nice to read this very dil -se post. You mirrored my thoughts on the Ram -Mandir frenzy, it is more of a political thing rather than religious, which is why the honorable PM was in such a rush to home Lord Rama in a half-finished temple before the polls. I am religious to some extent and I do observe fasts and celebrate festivals and do believe in a higher power but not to the extent that it makes me a radicalist. It was sad to see Hinduism reduced to such cheap antics.

    Being a doctor I would have been happier if we had vowed to build more hospitals and medical colleges. We should have been awakened to the utter lack of medical facilities that left thousands to die in streets or homes.

    Lastly, I am lucky that seniors in my area choose to indulge in laughter therapy in a big park away from the residential area.

    By the way, I too love Kala Khatta flavor!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tell me about it Preeti!
      I celebrate festivals too… anything that brings people together but I try to stay away from things that divide.

      Like

  19. You my friend have a gift with the words! this one is honest and funny and you have made sure to get your point right across so beautifully and tactfully!
    i completely agree with you!
    But as you know you cannot everyone happy and nor agree with you so it’s ok! let them say coz they will anyways ( ye log velle hain!) no work literally they have!
    You go ahead and write your heart out!
    that’s why we love you Kaavu!😘😘

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment