Three Must Watch Movies on OTT

One of my regular pastimes is to watch movies and series on OTT. I really enjoyed three that I watched recently. They left me with a hangover. Along with heartwarming stories, all three have genuine, outstanding and stunning performances that touched me more than anything else. Let’s find out which movies they are:

1. Laapataa Ladies: Imagine getting married to one man and landing in the home of another. Sounds horrific right? Well this is the tale of Laapataa Ladies in which two newly married girls get exchanged accidentally. One lands in the home of another and the other becomes homeless. Now this movie justifies the phrase, ‘simple is beautiful.’ It is set in a rural village. The portrayal of the characters is so genuine and has such depth that I was left stunned. All the artists have done a phenomenal job. The protagonist Deepak who has featured in ‘Jamtara’ earlier is someone to look out for.
My verdict: A masterpiece!
OTT platform: Netflix

Pic courtesy: Google

2. Manjummel Boys: A fun boys trip to Kodaikanal turns into a nightmare when one of them falls into a deep pit in a cave from which no one has been brought back alive.
I was in Darjeeling when my husband told me that he had watched this movie and that it was amazing. So it was on my watchlist. By the way, I watched Laapataa Ladies in Darjeeling with my niece. This one I watched alone in Bangalore. Because it is a Malayalam movie, I first tried the Hindi dubbed version but I didn’t quite get the feel so I switched to Malayalam with English subtitles. It’s only in Malayalam that you can feel the emotions at play. The hindi dubbing sounded fake to me. Based on a true story, Manjummel Boys is about Manjummel Boys… their friendship, kinship and emotions, expressed beautifully through brilliant performances. I love watching my kind of Malayalam cinema and appreciate the authenticity in them. This one is no less.
My verdict: Brilliant!
OTT Platform: Disney Hotstar

Pic courtesy: Google

3. Maidaan: A sports coach of the underdogs aims to turn his team into the best ever. Does it sound familiar? Maybe another Chak De? When I saw the trailers, I wasn’t too keen to watch Maidaan but the IMDB review made me change my mind, so we watched it and I am so glad we did. I loved it and guess why? Because it is not about cricket or hockey, it is about football. Now who would’ve thought that the Indian Football team (in a country where cricket outshines everything else) many decades ago, played fantastic and was at its peak. Courtesy! One man and the team’s coach Syed Abdul Rahim. The movie is based on his inspirational real life story of sheer determination and selfless will to form a strong team from all over India and not Bengal alone.
I have become a big fan of his and I am a fan of football anyway. I love the sport; so much that if I had had a son, I would’ve made him a footballer anyhow.
It’s a period movie, but still, the VFX could have been better in some scenes. That aside, it is a must watch!
My verdict: Terrific!
OTT platform: Amazon Prime Video

Pic courtesy: Google

Somehow, all three movies struck a chord. Each story is very different from the other but similar in their basic essence- of determination, will and above all selflessness. They’re inspiring and of course mind blowing. Please watch it to believe it!

~•~•~•~•~•~

This blog post is a part of the blog challenge ‘Blogaberry Dazzle’ 
hosted by Cindy D’Silva and Noor Anand Chawla 
in collaboration with Dr. Preeti Chauhan.

12 thoughts on “Three Must Watch Movies on OTT

  1. Watched the first one, yet to watch the other two. Manjummel Boys is certainly a hit. Maidaan I thought was similar to other sports/sports/coach movie so I haven’t watched it yet.

    Like

  2. I had gotten an invitation to watch Laapata Ladies to meet the crew and watch but couldn’t because of daughters’ exams. And now I haven’t watched it yet! I really look forward to watching all these 3 movies.

    Like

  3. I’m on a mission to recommend Laapata Ladies as much as I can and to anyone I meet/talk to. It is indeed a masterpiece.
    As for the other two movies, Maidaan is on my watchlist and hopefully I’ll be able to watch it soon. The remaining one, I must thank you for bringing to my notice and another thanks for letting me know I need to watch it in Malayalam with English subtitles 🙌🏻😁

    Like

  4. I binge watched Heera mandi and Laapata ladies and Maidaan is on my watchlist. But will look up Manjummel Boys as well. The dialogues in Laapata Ladies are amazing. So softly spoken but the authority in them is fascinating. Why cant we have more such movies on women, I wonder.

    Like

  5. Wow, it’s surreal that all three movies on my watchlist are your must-watch picks. Heard great reviews about Laapata Ladies. My husband saw Maidaan and loved it. Manjummel Boys, I’m gonna to watch in Malayalam with subtitles too. Dubbing doesn’t cut it for me. Going to catch up with them soon!

    Like

  6. Lapata Ladies I watched in May and its an absolute bang on movie, after all Kiran Rao and Aamir Khan are the ones behind the film it need to be good. My latest watch is Maaidaan I watched last Sunday, loved it because after all it featured the Bengal Football industry and we grew up hearing the name of PK Chatterjee, Chuni Goswami and others. When My favorite actor is there in the film it by default became a must watch for me. I Love Ajay Devgun since the days of Phool Aur Kante. 🙂

    Like

  7. I want to watch Lapaata ladies as I heard really good review about this movie. I recently finished Begam Jaan and Heeramandi and loved the series. You will love these for sure.

    Like

  8. Great recommendations! I’ve been looking for new movies to watch, and Laapata Ladies sounds perfect. The mix of genres is just what I needed for a weekend binge. Thanks for sharing these must-watch picks!

    Like

Leave a comment